Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

February 16, 2012

Payroll tax bill won’t include extension of energy tax credits: US lawmakers

Keith Chu  •  Platts  •  Posted 2012-02-16 12:44:10

An extension of US energy-related tax credits, including the production tax credit for wind power, will not be included in a congressional deal to extend a payroll tax cut that could be released as soon as Wednesday evening, a Republican lawmaker involved in negotiations said. The PTC and other energy tax credit extensions “never were going to be in it,” said House of Representatives Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton, Republican-Michigan, in a interview. [ read more … ]

Wind energy loses in tax legislation

Dan Piller  •  Des Moines Register  •  Posted 2012-02-16 12:44:32

Windpower Magazine and other sources are reporting that extension of the 2-cent per megawatt hour production tax credit for wind energy projects has been excluded from the compromise Payroll Tax bill in congress. [ read more … ]

Many Jobs May Be Gone With The Wind Energy Credit

RICHARD HARRIS  •  NPR Morning Edition  •  Posted 2012-02-16 12:44:59

The wind power industry in this country has grown fast in recent years, but that could come to a screeching halt. The industry depends on a federal subsidy to keep it competitive with other forms of electricity. It’s a tax credit wind farms get for the power they produce. That credit expires at the end of the year, and it’s not clear whether Congress will renew it. [ read more … ]

As payroll tax deal nears, calls grow to include tax extenders

Katie Howell  •  E&E  •  Posted 2012-02-16 12:45:16

As House and Senate negotiators work to nail down a payroll tax cut deal, corporations and interest groups are urging lawmakers to include a key renewable energy tax credit extension in the package. [ read more … ]

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.