Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

June 21, 2013

Coons leaves Energy Committee for Appropriations slot

John McArdle, E&E reporter  •    •  Posted 2013-06-21 12:05:16

Sen. Chris Coons (D-Del.) is leaving the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee after securing a spot on the powerful Appropriations Committee. The Appropriations panel slot opened up due to the death of Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.) earlier this month. [ read more … ]

Utilities Switch Off Investment in Fossil Fuel Plants

By MARK SCOTT, New York Times  •    •  Posted 2013-06-21 12:05:35

On the outskirts of Scunthorpe in northern England, workers at the large power station known as Keadby 1 are preparing to shut it down at the end of the summer, with the loss of about 40 jobs. Its owner, the British utility Scottish & Southern Energy, says fluctuations in global energy markets have made the natural gas power plant unprofitable despite a multi-million pound renovation, as demand for electricity has plummeted since the financial crisis. [ read more … ]

FERC cost allocation order is ‘major step backward’ — Wyden

Hannah Northey, E&E reporter  •    •  Posted 2013-06-21 12:05:49

The chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee sharply criticized members of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission today for rejecting a proposal that would have made it voluntary for utilities in the Pacific Northwest to pay for regional transmission projects under Order 1000, and vowed to take legislative action if the decision isn’t reversed. Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) took issue with the commission’s 3-to-1 vote to approve a filing that ColumbiaGrid, a regional transmission planner, proposed to comply with Order 1000, a far-reaching rule the commission recently approved to revamp the way the grid is planned and paid for. [ read more … ]

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.