Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

June 18, 2017

To:                 State Representatives

 

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

 

Subject:           Agenda, Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Wednesday June 21, 2017

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for this Wednesday, June 21 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET). The conference call number is 800-747-5150 and your access code is 3951076. The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

“50 percent is not even our ceiling”: How One Regional Transmission Organization is Transmitting More Renewable Energy — Lanny Nickell, Vice President, Southwest Power Pool (SPP)

SPP sets North American record for wind power, SPP

For the First Time, Wind on the Plains Supplied More Than Half Region’s Power, Bloomberg

 

Update: Secretary Perry Calls for 60-Day Study of U.S. Electric GridRob Gramlich, Grid Strategies

Official on grid study: ‘We haven’t prejudged anything’, E&E

Grassley slams Perry’s grid study as anti-wind, E&E

 

Infrastructure Proposals and Electrical Transmission Development — Larry Pearce

State Perspective — Dan Carol, Office of Governor Jerry Brown

Industry Perspective — Rob Gramlich, Grid Strategies

Trump Plans to Shift Infrastructure Funding to Cities, States and Business, New York Times

Infrastructure package will land on Hill in a few weeks — Chao, E&E

Democrats offer a trillion-dollar infrastructure plan, E&E

 

           

Washington Update — David Terry, Larry Pearce

Administration’s Proposed FY’18 Budget

Panel aims to ‘refocus’ State Energy Program that Trump wants to kill, E&E

Lawmakers expected to snub White House budget, E&E

Trump’s budget expected to massively slash research on renewable energy — and ‘clean coal’, Washington Post

Coalition Letter to Senate and House Appropriations Committees, FY’17 & FY’18 (4-24-17)

           

Coalition’s Activities — Larry Pearce

 Conference call with Secretary Perry and Secretary Zinke postponed

 Draft governors’ renewable energy recommendations

Membership invitations to governors: Cooper (North Carolina), Edwards (Louisiana)

AWEA Northwest Regional Conference, July 25-26, Renton, Washington

 

 Next call is at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, August 24, 2017, and will feature discussion of impact of Tesla solar roofing tiles and DOE Gird Study.  July’s monthly conference call is cancelled.

 

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.