Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

February 20, 2017

To:                 State Representatives

 

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

 

Subject:           Agenda, Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, February 23, 2017

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for this Thursday, February 23 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET). The conference call number is 800-747-5150 and your access code is 3951076. The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

Massachusetts’ Offshore Wind Development Project Bill White, Massachusetts Clean Energy Center

Massachusetts Offshore Wind Development Update

Massachusetts just gave a huge boost to the offshore wind industry, Washington Post

Policy shifts could spur lagging U.S. offshore wind development — report, E&E

States jockey for jobs in nascent U.S. industry, E&E

           

Congressional and Administration Outlook — David Terry, Larry Pearce

            Senate Confirms Scott Pruitt as E.P.A. Head, New York Times

 

 

Reaction to Governors’ Recent Letters — Larry Pearce

Letter to President Trump identifying renewable energy initiatives

Letter to the nation’s governors on the success of state RPS and RES programs

Governors of Red, Blue States Urge Trump to Back Wind, Solar, Joe Ryan, Bloomberg News

Renewable energy draws increasing Republican support. That could shift climate politics., David Roberts VOX

 

Coalition’s Pending Work — Larry Pearce

Draft letters to Administrator Pruitt and Rick Perry (introduce coalition and share governors’ recent letters)

Draft governors’ renewable energy recommendations

Draft membership invitations to governors: Cooper (North Carolina), Kasich (Ohio)

 

NGA February Winter Meeting (February 24-27) and NGA Summer Meeting, Providence, R.I. (July 13-16) —Larry Pearce, Chris Kearns

            Renewable energy briefing materials for winter meeting

 

Joint Appearance Suggestions for Governor Raimondo and Governor Brownback — Larry Pearce

 

Next monthly conference call at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, March 23, 2017.

 

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.