Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

January 21, 2020

To:                  State Representatives

 

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

 

Subject:           Agenda, Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, January 23, 2020

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET).  The conference call number is 712-775-7270 and enter access code 998717#.  The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

Update National Transmission Development: Seam StudyAaron Bloom, NextEra Energy, and Jim McCalley, Iowa State University

A national grid is, in many ways, a perfect representative of humanity’s difficulties in the age of climate change. We know perfectly well, over the long term, in the big picture, that we need one. It makes economic and environmental sense. But we have enormous trouble organizing around long-term, big-picture goals, at least in a way that overcomes the many jurisdictional complications and parochial interests that impede them. — David Roberts, Vox

McCalley GWSC Seam Study Presentation (Sept. 2018)

DOE study sees economic, security benefits in single U.S. grid, E&E

We’ve been talking about a national grid for years. It might be time to do it. Vox

GWSC News Release on DOE Seam Study (11-9-18)

GWSC Letter to FERC on Seam Study

 

State and City Progress Toward 100 % Clean EnergyKelly Trumbull, UCLA Luskin Center for Innovation

“Despite federal policy designed to promote fossil fuels, a renewable energy transition is underway, led by communities and states throughout the U.S.  A growing number of cities are choosing to transition to 100% clean energy – and dozens have already hit that target – while the list of states committed to a 100% renewable energy future also continues to grow. This local and state demand has contributed to a near doubling of renewable energy generation since 2008.

 

Progress Toward 100 % Clean Energy Across the U.S. in Cities and States Across the U.S.

100% ‘clean’ electricity: Where things stand, E&E

 

Update: Outreach to New PJM President, Manu AsthanaLarry Pearce

“Asthana will be the first PJM CEO to bring a competitive retail electricity focus to the job. ‘The electric industry is rapidly changing, and PJM needs to continue to evolve,” Ake Almgren, chairman of PJM’s Board of Managers, said in a statement. Asthana will “lead PJM into the future.’ “

 

Asthana PJM Letter (Final 1-10-20)

 

Next monthly conference call at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, February 27, 2020.

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.