Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

August 19, 2019

 

To:                  State Representatives

 

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

 

Subject:           Agenda,Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, August 22, 2019

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET). The conference call number is 712-775-7270and enter access code998717#.  Please note that this is our new conference call number.  The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

Impact of Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Latest Environmental Review of the Vineyard Wind ProjectLiz Burdock, Business Network for Offshore Wind

The analysis throws Vineyard Wind’s future into doubt. The developer, a partnership of Avangrid Inc. and Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners, warned it would be difficult to proceed if BOEM delayed its environmental analysis beyond the summer. But Vineyard Wind officials sought to strike an upbeat tone after BOEM’s supplemental EIS was announced.

 

Trump Delay Casts Doubt on First Major U.S. Offshore Wind Farm, Bloomberg

Wind energy CEO vows to build delayed offshore project, AP

Trump admin throws wrench into offshore wind plans, E&E

The future of offshore wind may depend on Bernhardt, E&E

Draft Coalition Letter to Interior Secretary Bernhardt

 

 

Midwest Governor’s Association MID-GRID 2035 Transmission Project— Jesse Heier, Midwest Governors Association

“The electricity transmission grid is a large, complicated machine of extraordinary significance. A strong, resilient transmission grid provides reliable, low-cost electricity and is vital to the economic vitality of our states. While individual states and their utilities and stakeholders make decisions regarding their local electricity generation sources and distribution network, the transmission grid requires the multi-state and regional collaboration.

Governor Reynold’s agenda will focus on creating a more secure and modern electric grid in the Midwest. The effort was initiated because of the promise, and the related problems, in delivering more energy from source to load (i.e., energy consumers) in the region.” — Midwest Governors Association

 

Washington Update — David Terry

           

Next Call is at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, September 26, 2019

 

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.