Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

November 26, 2017

To:                 State Representatives

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

 

Subject:           Agenda, Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, November 30, 2017

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for Thursday, November 30 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET). The conference call number is 800-747-5150 and your access code is 3951076. The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

  • Update: House and Senate Tax Reform BillsLarry Pearce, David Terry

BEAT Provisions Letter

Renewable fears emerge over Senate bill, E&E

Governors’ letter to House Ways and Means Committee, November 7, 2017

GWSC Tax Reform Bills Update

House passes overhaul, shrugs off angst over renewables, E&E

 

  • The New Federal Energy Regulatory Commission MembersJoe Kelliher, Former FERC Chairman and NextEra Executive Vice President, Regulatory Affairs; and Michele Wheeler, Vice President, Regulatory & Political Affairs

Governors’ Welcome Letter to New FERC Commissioners, November 3, 2017

 

FERC Treatment of State Policies in Wholesale Markets and Secretary Perry’s Grid Directive Rob Gramlich, Grid Strategies

Anxiety common, consensus elusive over power market reforms at first day of FERC conference, Utility Dive, May 2, 2017

FERC member: We won’t ‘bastardize markets’ E&E, October 16, 2017

 

  • Rhode Island’s Grid Modernization ReportJonathan Schrag, Rhode Island Division of Public Utilities and Carriers

Rhode Island agencies release grid modernization report, American Public Power Association

 

  • Update: International Trade Commission’s Solar Import Decision — Larry Pearce

Governors’ Solar Tariff Letter to President Trump (draft)

Trump: ‘We can no longer tolerate’ trade abuses, E&E, November 21, 2017

Solar Finds Unexpected Champion in Sean Hannity, Bloomberg

The U.S. Solar Industry’s New Growth Region: Trump Country, Reuters

Editorial: Tariffs on Solar Panels Would Kill U.S. Jobs, Bloomberg

U.S. International Trade Commission Statement, September 22, 2017

 

  • Pending and Upcoming Activities — Larry Pearce, David Terry

            Governors’ Accomplishment Letter

Letter to President Trump Regarding Proposed Solar Tariffs

Developing proposed work plan for 2018 for next month’s agenda discussion

Announcement of coalition’s vice chair for 2018

Distribution of the Happening: A Clean Energy Revolution by Jamie Redford

 

December’s Monthly call during Christmas week is cancelled, but we’ll send you updates as the tax reform bills move through Congress.

 

Next call is at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, January 25, 2018

 

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.