Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

July 22, 2016

To:                 State Representatives

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

Subject:         Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, July 28, 2016

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for this Thursday, July 28 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET). The conference call number is 800-747-5150 and your access code is 3951076. The proposed agenda for our call follows:

Use of Tall Wind Tower Technology in the Southeast — Ed DeMeo

            MidAmerican Energy Company Concrete Wind Turbine

            Enabling Wind Power Nationwide 

U.S Department of Energy’s Gird Integration Project — Bryan Hannegan,

Associate Lab Director, Energy Systems Integration, NREL

Modernizing the grid: a tugboat ‘trying to turn a big ocean liner’

NREL to co-lead DOE’s multi-lab Grid Modernization Laboratory Consortium

Update: Rhode Island’s Block Island Wind Project — Chris Kearns, Governor Raimondo’s Coalition Representative

            Offshore Wind Power Gets Foothold in U.S. With Rhode Island Project

            Largest U.S. Offshore Wind Farm Planned in New York Waters

Governors’ Offshore Wind Summit 2016, October 24, Providence, Rhode Island — Larry Pearce

Governors’ wind summit in conjunction with AWEA’s Offshore WindPower Conference 2016 AWEA Offshore Wind Conference, October 25-26 Providence, Rhode Island

Governor invitations, Governors’ Invitation Offshore Wind Energy Summit

Link to conference and housing: Crown Plaza Reservation booking code: AWE

Invitations to state officials

Governors’ offshore policy letter to Congressional leadership

Governors’ Offshore Policy Letter        

Washington Update — David Terry, Larry Pearce

Senate Energy & Water Appropriations bill

Congress exits as September workload piles up

Energy Bill Conference Committee

Senate votes to kick off conference talks on energy bill

Wind and solar policy briefing for Presidential transition committee

Pending letters and activities — Larry Pearce  

            Draft administrative action letter to President

Identify wind and solar-related topics for presidential transition memo

Next conference call at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, August 25, 2016

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.