Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

April 22, 2019

To:                  State Representatives

 

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

 

Subject:           Agenda,Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, April 25, 2019

 

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for Thursday, April 25, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET).  The conference call number is 712-775-7270 and enter access code998717#.  Please note that this is our new conference call number.  The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

 

The SOO Green Renewable Rail project — Brian Lammers, Direct Connect Development Co.

            “The SOO Green Renewable Rail project is an innovative underground transmission solution to efficiently deliver high-quality wind energy from the Upper Midwest to eastern U.S. markets. It creates a new model for how transmission is sited in the United States, cost effectively enabling the large-scale integration of renewable energy into the U.S. electrical grid.”

 

Underground Line Could Carry Iowa Wind Power to Chicago, AP

 

Independent developer proposes $2.5B underground transmission line, to bring Iowa wind to PJM, MISO, Utility Dive

 

Why Europe Pays Less Than U.S. to Put Power Lines Underground, Bloomberg

 

Power Up Iowa— Jeff Danielson, AWEA

Iowa leaders announce Power Up Iowa, new coalition for state wind industry, Gazette

 

Discussion: Governors’ Clean Energy Coalition — Larry Pearce, David Terry

We are entering a new era in which governors are increasingly setting bold clean energy goals and challenging the public and private sectors to partner in advancing both economic development and renewable power solutions.  Renewable energy, energy storage, carbon capture, and low carbon transportation fuels will all likely be needed to meet these energy goals.”

 

Governors’ Clean Energy Coalition (draft 4-20-19)

 

Infrastructure and House Energy-Related Legislation — David Terry

           

Next Call is at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, May 23, 2019  

 

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.