Please add the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition to your address book for uninterrupted delivery
View this email in a web browser.
Governors' Wind Energy Coalition

December 17, 2018

To:                  State Representatives

From:              Larry Pearce, Executive Director

David Terry, Washington Representative

Subject:           Agenda,Governors’ Wind & Solar Energy Coalition Monthly Conference Call, Thursday, December 20, 2018

The Coalition’s monthly conference call is scheduled for Thursday, December 20 at 10:00 a.m. CT (9:00 MT, 8:00 PT, 11:00 ET).  The conference call number is 800-747-5150and your access code is 3951076#. The proposed agenda for our call follows:

 

Green New Deal and House Energy-Related Legislation — Laura Hayes, Senate Environment and Public Works Committee (invited); Charles Hernick, Citizens for Responsible Energy Solutions; and David Terry

“Democrats are united in decarbonizing our economy and addressing climate change in stark contrast to Republicans. But House leaders have to be strategic in how they approach climate change,” said Paul Bledsoe, an energy fellow at the Progressive Policy Institute who worked on climate change in the Clinton White House. “Impossible-to-reach targets will only disappoint.”

 

Legislative areas:

Energy and Water Appropriations

Infrastructure Legislation (including port development climate change adaptation)

Energy Storage Legislation (especially investment tax credit)

Nuclear Energy Leadership Act (Sen. Murkowski R-AK)

Carbon tax/Energy Innovation Act (Rep. Deutch D-FL)

ARPA-E Reauthorization

EERE Reauthorization

 

 

What exactly is the ‘Green New Deal’?, E&E

Can the ‘Green New Deal’ deliver 100% renewables? E&E

‘Green New Deal’ is actually an old idea, E&E

 

Coalition Activities— Larry Pearce

Welcome governors-elect letters (6) to: Gavin Newsomin California, Jared Polis in Colorado, Laura Kellyin Kansas, Kristi Noemin South Dakota, J.B. Pritzker in Illinois, and Tim Walzin Minnesota

Governor-elect letter (Polis)

 

Invitation and congratulation letters (8) to:Mike DeWinein Ohio, Gretchen Whitmerin Michigan, Tony Eversin Wisconsin, Janet Millsin Maine, Steve Sisolakin Nevada, Michelle Lujan Grisham*in New Mexico, Kevin Stittin Oklahoma, and Mark Gordonin Wyoming

      Governor-elect Invitation (Evers)

 

Update: Governors’States’ Offshore Wind Development Initiative—David Terry and Larry Pearce

            Draft Memorandum of Understanding

           

Next Call is at 10 CT, 11 ET, and 8 PT on Thursday, January 24, 2019  

Note: News clips provided do not necessarily reflect the views of coalition or its member governors.